Book Rating (338)
Narrator Rating (81)

Something in the Water: A Novel

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com
CD Rental On Simply Audiobooks

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "Something in the Water: A Novel" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Catherine Steadman

11 Hours 41 Minutes

Random House (Audio)

June 2018

Audio Book Summary

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

“A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!”—Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

A REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICK

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?
 
Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .
 
Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?
 
Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .
 
Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?
 
Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

Advance praise for Something in the Water

“With unreliable characters, wry voices, exquisite pacing, and a twisting plot, [Catherine] Steadman potently draws upon her acting chops. . . . A darkly glittering gem of a thriller from a new writer to watch.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Captivating . . . daring . . . The threats and increasingly bad decisions accelerate with Bourne-like velocity. . . . Steadman [is] a newcomer worth watching.”—Publishers Weekly

“An unbearably tense debut with a knockout premise, Something in the Water had me hooked from the very first sentence. Thrilling and thought-provoking, it’s the perfect beach read. I devoured it!”—Riley Sager, bestselling author of Final Girls

Similar Audio Books

Reviews

  • Kourtney K.

    Love this author - love that she narrated herself and I look forward to her next novel! Great story! Keeps you guessing! Love the characters

    Book Rating

  • Louise M.

    mesmerizing....couldn't put it down...well since I was LISTENING, it was more like ...me walking around with my headsets on! wonderful surprise ending. narrator spot on. so enjoyable to listen. I'm looking forward to more of her work!.

    Book Rating

  • Raven S.

    Terrible. Total waste of my time.

    Book Rating

  • Michelle J.

    Great couldn’t stop listening narrator was perfect

    Book Rating

  • Joanie G.

    Loved this book, her way of dealing with things was impressive. She was a good heroine and I'm glad she made it through. It's a good read.

    Book Rating

  • Shari G.

    Loved the narration by the Author and loved the twists and turns

    Book Rating

  • Stacie H.

    I really liked the story and the narration but was extremely disappointed in the authors use of the f*** word. It was consistently used and degraded the characters

    Book Rating

  • Melissa G.

    This was my first audiobook ever; a bit different for me. Loved the authors narration; I could listen to her always. Impressive story as well; can’t wait to see what she does next.

    Book Rating

  • Korina W.

    One-I love how the author read the book herself. Two-I thought I knew what was coming and BAM twist. Definitely a great read

    Book Rating

  • Terry S.

    Great narration. At times, plot got too slow but great twists and turns. Kept me guessing till the end.

    Book Rating