Book Rating (219)
Narrator Rating (47)

When Breath Becomes Air

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com
CD Rental On Simply Audiobooks

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "When Breath Becomes Air" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Cassandra Campbell, Sunil Malhotra

5 Hours 35 Minutes

Random House (Audio)

January 2016

Audio Book Summary

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
- For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decades worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithis transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I cant go on. Ill go on." When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

Praise for When Breath Becomes Air

"I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this books tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to him - passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to die - so well. None of it is maudlin. Nothing is exaggerated. As he wrote to a friend: ‘Its just tragic enough and just imaginable enough. And just important enough to be unmissable." - Janet Maslin, The New York Times

"An emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring." - The Washington Post

"Possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead." - The Boston Globe

"Devastating and spectacular . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where its all heading." - USA Today

"Its [Kalanithis] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so original - and so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early." - Entertainment Weekly

"[When Breath Becomes Air] split my head open with its beauty." - Cheryl Strayed

Similar Audio Books

Reviews

  • Justyna B

    Beautiful and very touching book! It\'s an honor to read this story.

    Book Rating

  • Sonya M

    Honestly, I wasn\'t that impressed with this book. It was okay. I didn\'t pay to listen to it as it was part of my free trial so I can\'t complain. But, if I\'d paid for the book I would\'ve been upset. The author talks a lot about treating patients and clinical stuff. I guess I was expecting more of the emotional side of illness and death from the author\'s perspective. I enjoyed the end of the book the most, which was written by Paul\'s wife. She tied things up nicely. I wish her and their daughter the best going forward.

    Book Rating

  • Arwa Y

    Wonderful book! I truly enjoyed how he added a philosophical touch or spin while reflecting on his life events.

    Book Rating

  • Jill Ross

    Life changing! I could not put it down. What a sweet journey it really moved me. Dr. Kalanithi story is something everyone should know about. I laughed , cried, got angry and then in the end I felt peace. The world gained lost so much with the passing of this amazing human being.

    Book Rating

  • nab6215

    I can't add to anything that has already been said about this book. It is more than everything I had heard about it. I took it in and it will be with me a long time.

    Book Rating

  • Jeanette Ruel Turvey

    Beautiful, thought provoking, stirring, and riveting are just a few words that come to mind. I felt deeply drawn to listen to the thoughts and quandaries of a brilliant young man\'s struggle to accept his inevitable death from the dreaded cancer. He was valiant but not boastful or arrogant. His chronicle of his passage through his unfortunate illness was so very human yet truly courageous. The book left me somewhat saddened but it also gave me an insight into what it means to live life for each day!

    Book Rating

  • claudia caso

    Deep, different, and very well written. Makes you question your own values and priorities.

    Book Rating

  • Shelby hedgepeth

    Loved every minute of this. A must read for anyone in healthcare.

    Book Rating

  • Joan Morabito

    Fabulous read. Very interesting and provokes quite a bit of thought -- about life, love, goals, etc. Veey sad to hear such fabulous writing and such raw honesty from someone who is gone. I though his wife did a wonderful job of finishing it for him. Kudos to her for that as I am not sure I could have done it as well as she did given the circumstances. A wonderful but sad read. You will cry.

    Book Rating

  • Alex Gretter

    This book is as raw as it is rare. It is the account of one family handling the death and dying of a man far to young to die. He risked being vulnerable by telling his story for all of our betterment. I won't forget his story, him, or the impact of reading this book. Very grateful.

    Book Rating