Book Rating
Narrator Rating

Famous Men Who Never Lived

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com
CD Rental On Simply Audiobooks

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "Famous Men Who Never Lived" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Amy Landon

9 Hours 15 Minutes

HighBridge Company

March 2019

Audio Book Summary

For fans of Station Eleven and Exit West, Famous Men Who Never Lived explores the effects of displacement on our identities, the communities that come together through circumstance, and the power of art to save us.

Wherever Hel looks, New York City is both reassuringly familiar and terribly wrong. As one of the thousands who fled the outbreak of nuclear war in an alternate United States-an alternate timeline-she finds herself living as a refugee in our own not-so-parallel New York. The slang and technology are foreign to her, the politics and art unrecognizable. While others, like her partner Vikram, attempt to assimilate, Hel refuses to reclaim her former career or create a new life. Instead, she obsessively rereads Vikram's copy of The Pyronauts-a science fiction masterwork in her world that now only exists as a single flimsy paperback-and becomes determined to create a museum dedicated to preserving the remaining artifacts and memories of her vanished culture.

But the refugees are unwelcome and Hel's efforts are met with either indifference or hostility. And when the only copy of The Pyronauts goes missing, Hel must decide how far she is willing to go to recover it and finally face her own anger, guilt, and grief over what she has truly lost.

Similar Audio Books