Book Rating (150)
Narrator Rating (42)

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Julia Whelan

17 Hours 10 Minutes

Macmillan Audio

October 2020

Audio Book Summary

'[Narrator Julia] Whelan's performance is unforgettable in this darkly romantic fantasy about one young woman cursed always to be forgotten...Her depiction of the darkness is smooth with a low cadence, capturing listeners' attention and their heart strings.' -- Booklist

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

'This epic story, spanning three centuries and two continents, is expertly narrated by Julia Whelan...This is a transporting listen, and these characters will stick with you for a long time.' -- Bookpage, starred review

'Julia Whelan's steady rhythm perfectly conveys the ups and downs of Addie LaRue's life, which take place over 300 years...Her voice fits each moment, making Addie's journey both sobering at times and unforgettable.' -- AudioFile Magazine

Similar Audio Books

Reviews

  • Bruce R C.

    Magnificent. Many books are referred to as “page turners,” suggesting that you can’t wait to see what next happens. Addie LaRue allows you to celebrate the page you’re reading, loving and living every moment and allowing you to fully experience the journey. This is one of my all time favorites. My biggest problem is not knowing what next to read that could possibly withstand comparison to this phenomenal book.

    Book Rating

  • Natalie T.

    New favorite! Beautifully written and the narrator brought the soul of this book to life! Well done!

    Book Rating

  • Ruthy B.

    A great story, well written. Loved the moments in different time periods.

    Book Rating

  • Tracy C.

    Interesting premise, the writing is lovely and i couldn’t wait to hear more.

    Book Rating

  • Rj S.

    Loved this book. I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s a movie in a year or two.

    Book Rating

  • Bianca1976

    This was such a departure from a genre that I would have picked up but I'm so glad I did. In the end it was a love story and I'm happy about that. I listened to this on the recommendation of a friend and it was a really great book. It was sad and beautiful and just a really well put together story. I really enjoyed it and the narrator.

    Book Rating

  • Jill P.

    Picked up my interest right away. There were several times I thought the book was near the end and there would be another turn!

    Book Rating

  • Rachel U.

    I love this book! It never got boring and always kept me entertained. The way the setting changed from timeline to timeline was very intriguing and it opened a new perspective to look at life in. Amazing story (: I would definitely recommend!

    Book Rating

  • Erica R.

    Great premise, plot goes at an easy pace, a bit light in the writing, which is a perfect listen for housework or a commute. BUT I almost gave up on it when two huge historical errors pierced the integrity of story. AUTHOR, PLEASE NOTE: Sacre Coeur was not built til late 19th century, and Vermeer painted The Girl with the Pearl Earring (not Rembrandt).

    Book Rating

  • Debbi S.

    Really lived this book!

    Book Rating