Book Rating (97)
Narrator Rating (35)

Medicine Walk

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "Medicine Walk" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Tom Stechschulte

8 Hours 3 Minutes

Recorded Books

May 2015

Audio Book Summary

By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks and general literary. Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father, Eldon. He's sixteen years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they've shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son's duty to a father. He finds Eldon decimated after years of drinking, dying of liver failure in a small town flophouse. Eldon asks his son to take him into the mountains, so he may be buried in the traditional Ojibway manner. What ensues is a journey through the rugged and beautiful backcountry, and a journey into the past, as the two men push forward to Eldon's end. From a poverty-stricken childhood, to the Korean War, and later the derelict houses of mill towns, Eldon relates both the desolate moments of his life and a time of redemption and love and in doing so offers Frank a history he has never known, the father he has never had, and a connection to himself he never expected. A novel about love, friendship, courage, and the idea that the land has within it powers of healing, Medicine Walk reveals the ultimate goodness of its characters and offers a deeply moving and redemptive conclusion. Wagamese's writing soars and his insight and compassion are matched by his gift of communicating these to the reader.

Similar Audio Books

Reviews

  • Talita H.

    Beautifully written, and beautifully spoken

    Book Rating

  • Kristen N.

    This book is a must read. The young man’s relationship with the land is just as intriguing as his relationship with his father and guardian. The narrator does a tremendous job with this book. Anyone who has ever had a relationship or been close to an alcoholic should read this book.

    Book Rating

  • Sandra W.

    Although staged at a slow pace this book was riveting. A very intimate discourse on human nature which draws the reader into the equation. The narration was probably the best I have ever heard. I am glad I listened to this book rather than read it because I have a tendency to gloss over minute details. In this case, that would have lessened the impact of the story.

    Book Rating

  • Dayna A.

    This is written and read with so much sincerity, I had such feeling for the characters and found the many different relationships explored in the story fascinating. Haunting, beautiful, will listen again and highly recommend.

    Book Rating

  • Helen C.

    Really enjoyed this book. Refreshingly different and engrossing storyline. Excellent narration, will look out for other books he has narrated.

    Book Rating

  • Suzanne M.

    Absolutely excellent book so many things to learn in it. Lots of detailed information on Indian ways, folklore, relationships. A must read

    Book Rating

  • Anonymous

    Incredible! Emotional. Intentional. I enjoyed the entire experience from the story to narration. I’m a hard book person but the story telling and tone was elevated by the narrator. Strongly recommend. Be patient it’s worth the journey

    Book Rating

  • Laurie R.

    Thoroughly enjoyed. Reader was great.

    Book Rating

  • Anonymous

    Phenomenal story !!! Would make an Academy Award winning movie if done right !!!

    Book Rating

  • Gina M.

    Gina Beautifully written and an incredible story reflecting the powerful influence a father (or father figure) has on building the character of a man and how the absence of a father can impact the direction of a life. I was deeply moved by this story and highly recommend it. This was my top read of 2020 - that said in a very challenging year of reads! Narration also top notch!

    Book Rating