Book Rating (88)
Narrator Rating (23)

The Orphan's Tale: A Novel

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com
CD Rental On Simply Audiobooks

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "The Orphan's Tale: A Novel" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Jennifer Wydra, Kyla Garcia

12 Hours 52 Minutes

Harlequin Audio

February 2017

Audio Book Summary

Look out for Pam's new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II—coming soon!
A New York Times bestseller!
'Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. ' —Library Journal
'Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.' —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train
A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 
Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 
Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Similar Audio Books

Reviews

  • Jennifer B

    I liked the original plot of this book. It seemed very well researched. I wished for a bit more character development. I did not feel like there was enough explained about Astrid and Noa to justify the depth of their bond. As far a the narration, I don't know why they needed to do an accent for the character voices. I understand the main character were German, but I'm not sure the accent added anything to the story.

    Book Rating

  • Karey C

    An unexpected ending. The book was engaging and a very good read.

    Book Rating

  • Monica Estenson

    This was a great book. The narrator was great and it is a gripping story!!

    Book Rating

  • Donna O\'Neil

    I really enjoyed listening to to this book, another tale of hardship during WWII. I have already listened to "The NIghtengale", and "Lilac Girls". The vivid description of the circus, at a time when Ringling Bros. is disbanding, put a deeper meaning on the close of a page of history. The lives of the performers are reminiscent of "Water for Elephants". The relationship between the two women is poignant and detailed, but the depth of some of the characters falls flat. The use of two narrators is effective. An easy entertaining listen, with a bit of a surprise ending, it is good fare for long hours on the road.

    Book Rating

  • Robert Lipson

    This book is excellent, it should be a movie.

    Book Rating