Book Rating (43)
Narrator Rating (9)

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Derek Perkins

15 Hours 18 Minutes

Signal

September 2017

Audio Book Summary

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective.
     100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one.
     Us.
Homo Sapiens.
     How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come?
     In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come?
     Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.

Similar Audio Books

Reviews

  • Cathy C.

    Great book. Gets you thinking about who we are, where we have come from and where we are going. Excellent narrator.

    Book Rating

  • Rachel Horsley

    Interesting updates on what i learned in universty in Anthropology 101. balanced and sensible discussion of current theories. Puts evolution in perspective... and is clear that humans have been a blight on the planet from the beginning. very enjoyable, though the speculative bit at the end may be a bit silly.

    Book Rating

  • Chad G.

    Everyone must read/listen to this book

    Book Rating