Book Rating
Narrator Rating

The George Orwell Complete Collection

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On
Stream On

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "The George Orwell Complete Collection" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.






Audio Book Summary

This audiobook includes unabridged recordings of George Orwell's 5 great novels; 3 books of non-fiction; and 3 of his most well-renowned essays.

1984: Winston Smith begins to rebel against Big Brother's totaletarian control and falls in love with fellow worker, Julia, but soon discovers the true price of freedom is betrayal.

Animal Farm: Revolution is afoot for the animals at Manor Farm, and Mr Jones must pay the price.

Burmese Days: John Flory, a white timber-merchant in 1920s Burma, sets out to untangle societal conventions and help Dr Veraswami save his reputation.

Coming up for Air: In search of a simpler life, George Bowling escapes London and an impending sense of war to return to his childhood village.

Keep the Aspidistra Flying: Gordon Comstock quits his advertising job to pursue the creative life in opposition to 'the money god'. Only his ever-faithful Rosemary can rouse him from the stupor and challenge his commitment to his chosen way of life.

Down and Out in Paris and London: Orwell recounts his London tramping exploits in Paris and London with a cast of colourful characters.

The Road to Wigan Pier: Vivid descriptions of social injustice, cramped slum housing, dangerous mining conditions, squalor, hunger, and growing unemployment create a searing account of working-class life in the bleak industrial heartlands of Yorkshire and Lancashire in the 1930s.

Homage to Catalonia: Having enlisted to fight for an anti-Stalinist communist party in Spain, Orwell is soon forced to flee the country and here discusses the destructive nature of Soviet communism.

Politics and the English Language: A stinging criticism of the 'ugly and inaccurate' written English of Orwell's time which examines the connection between political orthodoxies and the debasement of language.

Notes on Nationalism: A biting state of the nation essay which reflects on patriotism, prejudice, and power.

Why I Write: George Orwell describes his personal journey to becoming a writer and offers some important motives for writing.

Full chapter listing:
- Chapters 2 to 27: 1984
- Chapters 28 to 39: Animal Farm
- Chapters 40 to 79: Down and Out in Paris and London
- Chapters 80 to 94: The Road to Wigan Pier
- Chapters 95 to 121: Burmese Days
- Chapters 122 to 137: Homage to Catalonia
- Chapters 138 to 162: Coming Up for Air
- Chapters 163 to 176: Keep the Aspidistra Flying
- Chapters 177 to 179: Politics and the English Language
- Chapters 180 to 182: Notes on Nationalism
- Chapters 183 to 185: Why I Write

Similar Audio Books