Searching for: "Jillian Cantor"

  • Jillian Cantor

    A spellbinding historical novel about a woman who befriends Ethel and Julius Rosenberg, and is drawn into their world of intrigue, from the author of Margot. On June 19, 1953, Ethel and Julius Rosenberg were executed for conspiring to commit espionage. The day Ethel was first arrested in 1950, she left her two young sons with a neighbor, and she never came home to them again. Brilliantly melding fact and fiction, Jillian Cantor reimagines the life of that neighbor, and the life of Ethel and Julius, an ordinary-seeming Jewish couple who became the only Americans put to death for spying during the Cold War. A few years earlier, in 1947, Millie Stein moves with her husband, Ed, and their...read more

  • Jillian Cantor

    FROM USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR JILLIAN CANTOR COMES A SMART, EDGY UPDATE OF JANE AUSTEN'S BELOVED CLASSIC EMMA. Emma Woodhouse is a genius at math, but clueless about people. After all, people are unreliable. They let you down-just like Emma's sister, Izzy, did this year, when she moved to California for college. But numbers ... those you can count on. (No pun intended.) Emma's senior year is going to be all about numbers and seeing how far they can take her. When she and George, her Coding Club copresident, are tasked with brainstorming a new project, The Code for Love is born-a matchmaking app that goes far beyond swiping, using algorithms to calculate compatibility. George...read more

  • Jillian Cantor

    “A gorgeous and thrilling novel… Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale.” –PopSugar A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key. Author of the forthcoming In Another Time.   Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works...read more

  • Jillian Cantor

    Anne Frank has long been a symbol of bravery and hope, but there were two sisters hidden in the annex, two young Jewish girls, one a cultural icon made famous by her published diary and the other, nearly forgotten. In the spring of 1959, The Diary of Anne Frank has just come to the silver screen to great acclaim, and a young woman named Margie Franklin is working in Philadelphia as a secretary at a Jewish law firm. On the surface she lives a quiet life, but Margie has a secret: a life she once lived, a past and a religion she has denied, and a family and a country she left behind. Margie Franklin is really Margot Frank, older sister of Anne, who did not die in Bergen-Belsen as reported, but...read more

  • Jillian Cantor

    A sweeping historical novel that spans Germany, England, and the United States and follows a young couple torn apart by circumstance leading up to World War II—and the family secret that may prove to be the means for survival. Love brought them together. But only time can save them… 1931, Germany. Bookshop owner Max Beissinger meets Hanna Ginsberg, a budding concert violinist, and immediately he feels a powerful chemistry between them. It isn’t long before they fall in love and begin making plans for the future. As their love affair unfolds over the next five years, the climate drastically changes in Germany as Hitler comes to power. Their love is tested with the new...read more