Searching for: "Paula McLain"

  • Paula McLain

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A powerful novel of the stormy marriage between Ernest Hemingway and Martha Gellhorn, a fiercely independent woman who became one of the greatest war correspondents of the twentieth century—from the author of The Paris Wife and the new novel When the Stars Go Dark, available now! “Romance, infidelity, war—Paula McLain’s powerhouse novel has it all.”—Glamour NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • New York Public Library • Bloomberg • Real Simple In 1937, twenty-eight-year-old Martha Gellhorn travels alone to Madrid to...read more

  • Paula McLain

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR, BOOKPAGE, AND SHELF AWARENESS • “Paula McLain is considered the new star of historical fiction, and for good reason. Fans of The Paris Wife will be captivated by Circling the Sun, which . . . is both beautifully written and utterly engrossing.”—Ann Patchett, Country Living This powerful novel transports readers to the breathtaking world of Out of Africa—1920s Kenya—and reveals the extraordinary adventures of Beryl Markham, a woman before her time. Brought to Kenya from England by pioneering parents dreaming of a new life on an African farm, Beryl is raised...read more

  • Paula Mclain

    'Eine Liebe vor der Kulisse des Zweiten Weltkrieges. Meisterhaft inszeniert Paula McLain die stürmische Beziehung zwischen Ernest Hemingway und seiner dritten Frau Martha Gellhorn. Als Martha sich haltlos in den zehn Jahre älteren Ernest verliebt, ist sie gerade achtundzwanzig Jahre alt, hat aber schon die halbe Welt bereist. Später wird sie eine der berühmtesten Kriegsreporterinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts sein. Hals über Kopf folgt sie Hemingway in den Spanischen Bürgerkrieg und legt dort an seiner Seite den Grundstein für ihre Karriere. Doch als ihre Anerkennung wächst und Ernest immer größere Erfolge feiert, muss Martha sich entscheiden: Möchte sie die Frau eines weltberühmten...read more

  • Paula McLain

    This powerful and haunting memoir details the years Paula McLain and her two sisters spent as foster children after being abandoned by both parents in California in the early 1970s. As wards of the State, the sisters spent the next fourteen years moving from foster home to foster home. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of one of the most compelling memoirs in recent years-a book in the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's The Boys of My Youth and Mary Karr's The Liars' Club. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for...read more

  • Paula McLain

    A deeply evocative story of ambition and betrayal, The Paris Wife captures a remarkable period of time and a love affair between two unforgettable people: Ernest Hemingway and his wife Hadley. Chicago, 1920: Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness—until she meets Ernest Hemingway and her life changes forever. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in a lively and volatile group—the fabled “Lost Generation”—that includes Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound, and F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill...read more

  • Paula Mclain

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • GOOD MORNING AMERICA BUZZ PICK • “A total departure for the author of The Paris Wife, McLain’s emotionally intense and exceptionally well-written thriller entwines its fictional crime with real cases.”—People (Book of the Week) NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MARIE CLAIRE • “The kind of heart-pounding conclusion that thriller fans crave . . . In the end, a book full of darkness lands with a message of hope.”—The New York Times Book Review “This mystery will keep you guessing, and stay with you long after you finish. Dive in.”—Daily...read more

  • Paula Mclain

    In the long, hot Illinois summer of 1973, insecure, motherless Jamie falls under the dangerous spell of her older, more worldly cousin Fawn, who's come to stay with Jamie and her uncle as penance for committing an 'unmentionable act.' It is a time of awakenings and corruptions, of tragedy and loss, as Jamie slowly discovers the extent to which Fawn will use anything and anyone to further her own ends-and recognizes, perhaps too late, her own complicity in the disaster that takes shape around...read more

  • Paula Mclain

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife. A detective hiding away from the world. A disappearance that reaches into her past. Anna Hart is a seasoned missing persons detective living in San Francisco. When unspeakable tragedy strikes, she turns to the Californian village of Mendocino to grieve. Seeking comfort in the chocolate-box village she grew up in, Anna instead arrives to news that a local girl has gone missing. The crime feels frighteningly reminiscent of a crucial time in Anna's childhood, when an unsolved murder changed the community forever. As past and present collide, Anna is forced to confront the darkest side of human nature. "A novel of both great...read more