Searching for: "Beresford Bennett"

  • Ta-Nehisi Coates

    Penguin presents the audiobook edition of We Were Eight Years in Power by Ta-Nehisi Coates, read by Beresford Bennett. From 2008-2016, the leader of the free world was a black man. Obama's presidency reshaped America and transformed the international conversation around politics, race, equality. But it attracted criticism and bred discontent as much as it inspired hope - so much so, that the world now faces an uncertain future under a very different kind of US President. In this essential new book, peerless journalist and thinker Ta-Nehisi Coates takes stock of the Obama era, speaking authoritatively from political, ideological and cultural perspectives, and drawing a sophisticated...read more

  • Colson Whitehead

    In this wry take on the post-apocalyptic horror novel, a pandemic has devastated the planet. The plague has sorted humanity into two types: the uninfected and the infected, the living and the living dead. Now the plague is receding, and Americans are busy rebuild­ing civilization under orders from the provisional govern­ment based in Buffalo. Their top mission: the resettlement of Manhattan. Armed forces have successfully reclaimed the island south of Canal Street—aka Zone One—but pockets of plague-ridden squatters remain. While the army has eliminated the most dangerous of the infected, teams of civilian volunteers are tasked with clearing out a more innocuous...read more

  • Walter Mosley

    The Gift of Fire In ancient mythology, the Titan Prometheus was punished by the gods for bringing man the gift of fire—an event that set humankind on its course of knowledge. As punishment, Prometheus was bound to a rock. But in The Gift of Fire, those chains cease to be, and the great champion of man walks from that immortal prison into present-day South Central Los Angeles. Disheveled and lost, he is thrown in jail, where he meets lifelong criminal Nosome Blane. Shocked at what humanity has done with his gift, he looks for another way to empower his cause. His only hope lies with Nosome’s bedridden fourteen-year-old nephew, Chief Reddy, who is anointed with Prometheus’s...read more

  • Colson Whitehead

    A pandemic has devastated the planet, sorting humanity into two types: the uninfected and the infected, the living and the living dead. The worst of the plague is now past, and Manhattan is slowly being resettled. Armed forces have successfully reclaimed the island south of Canal Street – aka ‘Zone One’ and teams of civilian volunteers are clearing out the remaining infected ‘stragglers’. Mark Spitz is a member of one of these taskforces and over three surreal days he undertakes the mundane mission of malfunctioning zombie removal, the rigours of Post-Apocalyptic Stress Disorder, and attempting to come to terms with a fallen world. But then things start to go terribly...read more

  • Nina Sadowsky

    Perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Gillian Flynn, this sexy and seductive debut novel asks: How can you find out that the person you love is a killer . . . and continue to love him anyway? THEN Ellie Larrabee’s life is perfect. She’s thriving at work, living in a fabulous apartment, and engaged to the man of her dreams. To all appearances, Ellie and Rob Beauman are a golden couple—blessed with good looks, success, and romantic chemistry that’s off the charts. Surely their future together promises nothing but happiness. But on what should be the most wonderful day of her life, moments after saying “I do,” a shocking secret threatens to...read more

  • Ta-Nehisi Coates

    In this “urgently relevant”* collection featuring the landmark essay “The Case for Reparations,” the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me “reflects on race, Barack Obama’s presidency and its jarring aftermath”*—including the election of Donald Trump. New York Times Bestseller • Finalist for the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Named One of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times • USA Today • Time • Los Angeles Times • San Francisco Chronicle • Essence • O: The Oprah Magazine...read more

  • John M. Perkins

    How do you change the world? Dr. John M. Perkins says the answer is friendship. Find out why in He Calls Me...read more

  • Keith Lee Johnson

    Essence best-selling author Keith Lee Johnson's popular series continues with this fourth book, which reaches back to unearth the roots of Johnnie Wise's family tree. On the eve of her arranged marriage in an African village, a 16-year-old girl elopes with her fiancE's younger brother. But the lovers are captured and sold into American slavery-and the girl wonders if she'll ever see her man...read more

  • Carl Weber

    New York Times best-selling author Carl Weber amps up the sexiness and pulse-quickening drama in this riveting novel. All's good for James and Cathy-until a woman shows up with James' love child. Undeniably suave Brent thinks he's found happiness with a born-again churchgoer, until another leads him into temptation. And longtime friend Sonny is going to need help from James and Brent if he's to have any hope of salvaging his marriage. 'A raucous 'desperate husbands' story line-co-starring crazy baby mamas, shady churchgoers and various deranged personalities-ups the conflict quotient significantly.' -Publishers...read more

  • Keith Lee Johnson

    Essence best-selling author Keith Lee Johnson's fifth installment in his ongoing Little Black Girl Lost series picks up where the fourth book left off by continuing the diary of Josephine Baptiste. As more details about Josephine's past come to light, the African heritage of modern-day Johnnie Wise is further...read more

  • Angela Benson

    Three of fiction's most beloved writers-nationally best-selling authors all-each contribute a novella to this enchanting work. With the tales focusing on what happens when a character wins the lottery, the collection boasts hard-earned truths about Christian charity, redemption, and the place of the almighty dollar in people's lives. Angela Benson, Marilynn Griffith and Tia McCollors tackle, respectively, an assistant pastor with something to hide, a football player fallen on hard times, and a motorcycle rider with a heart of...read more

  • Kiki Swinson

    The Ultimate Heist Kiki Swinson Accustomed to a life of luxury, Shannon Marshall is devastated to lose everything after her husband, Todd, is sent to prison for gun running. So when Todd plans the ultimate stickup from behind bars, Shannon's ready to put her neck on the line. But she'll have to pull off the hustle of a lifetime and play one dangerous gangster who always gets what he wants. . . Robyn Banks De'Nesha Diamond DEA Agent Jordan Hayes has vowed to never walk in her ex-con father's footsteps. Suspecting her father is planning another robbery, she begins keeping close tabs on him and his crony--sexy gangster Keston Bishop. Jordan soon becomes addicted to the danger that radiates...read more

  • Victor McGlothin

    Victor McGlothin is the Essence best-selling author of Autumn Leaves. In The Secrets of Newberry, McGlothin crafts a stunning portrait of race relations in New Orleans circa 1955. When Hampton Bynote meets Bones Arcineaux, the two begin stealing from the rich whites of the French Quarter as a way of recovering the pride that was once taken from them. But when one burglary takes a turn for the worse, the consequences haunt the two men for years to come. 'McGlothin's rugged prose captures the sultry locale .'-Publishers...read more

  • Seven

    The seventh child of one of Richmond, Virginia's most ambitious hustlers, Seven is a talented poet and author with a true ear for the streets. In Gorilla Black, a boy with a love of Shakespeare and Langston Hughes struggles to thrive while growing up in the projects as the son of an alcoholic mother. In time, self-dubbed Gorilla Black will ascend to the top seat of a cocaine-fueled empire-and discover the truth about his beloved brother's death so many years...read more

  • Peniel E. Joseph

    An acclaimed chronicler of the Civil Rights Movement, Peniel Joseph presents this sweeping overview of a key component of the struggle for racial equality-the Black Power movement. This is the story of the men and women who sacrificed so much to begin a more vocal and radical push for social change in the 1960s and 1970s. '... a dramatic story, carefully researched, and deserving of our attention.' -Howard Zinn, New York Times best-selling...read more

  • Keith Lee Johnson

    National best-selling author Keith Lee Johnson enjoyed breakout success for his novel Little Black Girl Lost. Now Johnson introduces Nelson Kennard, a former number one NBA draft pick who blew his chance at the big time-and is about to lose the best thing that's ever happened to him, sexy school teacher Parris Stalls. Soon-to-be-dissed Nelson may have been a playa back in the day, but there's always another baller waiting in the...read more

  • Michael Thomas

    On the eve of his thirty-fifth birthday, the unnamed black narrator of Man Gone Down finds himself broke, estranged from his family, and living in the bedroom of a friend's six-year-old child. He has four days to come up with the money to keep his kids in school and make a down payment on an apartment for them to live...read more

  • Hadjii

    Writer, director, and starring actor in Sundance Grand Jury Prize nominee Somebodies, Hadjii remembers the trials and tribulations of youth in Don't Let My Mama Read This. From the havoc that a boy's crusty underwear can wreak on a family's reputation to the first time getting caught coming home drunk, Hadjii covers all the aspects of a 'blessedly normal'...read more

  • Keith Lee Johnson

    Best-selling author Keith Lee Johnson returns to 1950s New Orleans for this powerful sequel to his sensationally popular Little Black Girl Lost. Teenage beauty Johnnie Wise has seen her share of hardship. Sold into prostitution at an early age, she is an accessory to a murder that sparks terrible race riots. Her boyfriend Lucas wants to give her a better life, but Johnnie has a powerful effect on men-and gangster Napoleon Bentley will stop at nothing to have...read more

  • Keith Lee Johnson

    Acclaimed author Keith Lee Johnson evokes the dark and deadly world of 1950s New Orleans in this third novel from his popular series featuring street-savvy Johnnie Wise. Unafraid to use her assets, young Johnnie has wiled her way into the lives of several dangerous men. She also happens to be connected to three murders. Now that her enemies are closing in from all sides, it seems her luck may run...read more