Searching for: "Fiona Shaw"

  • Mr Punch

    The Letters of Jane Austen performed by FIONA SHAW in a dramatised setting “Frequently indiscreet and occasionally acerbic or heartless, Jane Austen’s letters are always engaging. Fiona Shaw gives a sensitive reading”. (Daily Telegraph) “Fiona Shaw as Jane Austen babbles like a little brook of a petit-point life in Hampshire and Bath”. (The Independent) Born at Steventon in 1775, the daughter of a Hampshire clergyman, Jane Austen was the youngest of seven children. She lived a quiet life, moving to Bath, Southampton, Chawton and eventually to Winchester where she died unmarried in 1817 at the age of forty-two. It is to her elder sister Cassandra that most of her...read more

  • Alistair Sooke

    30 leading cultural figures choose an artwork from the Museum of Modern Art's collection, and discuss the response it provokes in them Art critic and broadcaster Alastair Sooke, accompanied by some of the world's leading creative thinkers, takes an in-depth look at the outstanding exhibits in New York's MoMA, exploring how the way we 'see' art is shaped by our experiences and perspectives. His guests include some of the sharpest minds of our time - artists, writers, designers, comedians, musicians and scientists, among them Steve Martin, Margaret Cho, John Waters, Roxane Gay, Fiona Shaw, Orhan Pamuk and Stanley Tucci. Each guest selects a piece of art that speaks to them - one that's...read more

  • Angela Carter

    Angela Carter was one of the most important writers of the 20th Century. A pioneer of British magical realism, her work was described by Salman Rushdie as 'without rival and without equal'. Her radical, inventive novels influenced countless writers, while her dark, sensual short fiction turned traditional fables inside out, giving women the power over their desires and fates. Susannah Clapp, Angela Carter's literary executor and friend, introduces the productions and offers fascinating insights into Angela Carter's life and work. This landmark collection includes five new dramatisation of stories from her iconic collection of fairytales retold, The Bloody Chamber. Alongside the title...read more

  • Humphrey Carpenter

    Well-known personalities pick their favourite entertainers for BBC Radio 4's Great Lives One of the BBC's most acclaimed programmes, Great Lives has been a regular Radio 4 fixture for 20 years, presented by Joan Bakewell, Humphrey Carpenter, Francine Stock and Matthew Parris. Every week, a famous name is invited into the studio to nominate a figure from the past who has inspired them, and discuss their subject with the presenter and a guest expert. Included in this special collection, marking the programme's 20th anniversary, are the very best episodes featuring the lives of entertainers - artists, comedians, clowns, magicians, sporting heroes and stars of stage and screen. Among...read more

  • Mr Punch

    A three-volume collection of moving letters from the private writings of three of the most popular writers of the 19th century, presented in a dramatised setting. “Frequently indiscreet and occasionally acerbic or heartless, Jane Austen’s letters are always engaging. Fiona Shaw gives a sensitive reading” (Daily Telegraph) “If you want to see into man’s soul, start with this self-portrait. It’s magnificent” (The Guardian) “These provide a welcome addition to our collection of Bronteana... the reading is sympathetic and lively and makes most compelling listening.” (Bronte Society) The Letters of JANE AUSTEN performed by FIONA SHAW CBE Born at Steventon in...read more

  • Jane Austen

    Penguin Classics presents Jane Austen's Emma, adapted for audio and now available as a digital download as part of the Penguin English Library series. Read by the actress Fiona Shaw. 'I never have been in love; it is not my way, or my nature; and I do not think I ever shall' Beautiful, clever, rich - and single - Emma Woodhouse is perfectly content with her life and sees no need for either love or marriage. Nothing, however, delights her more than interfering in the romantic lives of others. But when she ignores the warnings of her good friend Mr Knightley and attempts to arrange a suitable match for her protégée Harriet Smith, her carefully laid plans soon unravel and have...read more

  • Colm Tóibín

    The downloadable, digital audiobook edition of Colm Tóibín's new novel, read by Fiona Shaw. It is the 1960s and Nora Webster is living with her two young sons in a small town on the east coast of Ireland. The love of her life, Maurice, has just died. Nora must learn how to forge a new life for herself, how to give her sons a future as she tries to hold onto the past. And, as Nora returns to memories of the happiness of her early marriage something more painful begins to intrude: memories of her own mother and what brought about the terrifying distance between...read more

  • Kit De Waal

    Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Trick to Time by Kit de Waal, read by Fiona Shaw. Mona is a young Irish girl in the big city, with the thrill of a new job and a room of her own in a busy boarding house. On her first night out in 1970s Birmingham, she meets William, a charming Irish boy with an easy smile and an open face. They embark upon a passionate affair, a whirlwind marriage - before a sudden tragedy tears them apart. Decades later, Mona pieces together the memories of the years that separate them. But can she ever learn to love again? The Trick to Time is an unforgettable tale of grief, longing, and a love that lasts a...read more

  • Lewis Carroll

    Fiona Shaw gives a wonderfully fresh reading of Carroll's classic tale, making his fantastical characters thoroughly believable through an impression of voices. Vivid sound effects together with music by Delius, Parry and Bruckner complete this delightful...read more

  • William Shakespeare

    Macbeth, Shakespeare's last great tragedy, has remained one of the most popular plays since it's first performance in 1606 - probably in front of King James. This exciting new audiobook production is directed with fresh imagination by Fiona Shaw who breaks the conventional strait jacket that has hampered the development of Shakespeare on audio. We are as much in the twenty-first century as in medieval Scotland - the tensions, the politics, the struggle for power and dark ambition is part of our lives... This is also reflected in the sound world, with modern machinery and tanks. Macbeth is part of Naxos AudioBooks' exciting new series of complete dramatisations of the works of Shakespeare,...read more

  • C.S. Lewis

    Life in the small fishing village in the south of Calormen is all that young Shasta knows until, one day, he overhears his father planning to sell him into slavery to a stranger and discovers that he is not a fisherman's son after all. Things become even more surprising when the stranger's horse starts to have a conversation with him! Shasta discovers that the horse is called Bree, and that he comes from a magical land in the North. Together they decide to flee Calormen and slavery and head for the freedom of that land - Narnia. So begins a hazardous journey, fraught with mystery and danger. They must endure a harsh desert, climb the high mountains of Archenland and overcome many enemies...read more

  • Mary Wollstonecraft

    In A Vindication of the Rights of Woman, Mary Wollstonecraft tackles the wasted potential she sees in women, refusing to see them as inferior to men; she decries their limitations and suggests that they are worthy of an equal standard of education, and that they should be taught to develop their own reason, not simply how to gain a man. Written in 1792, at the height of the French Revolution, A Vindication is an eloquent and persuasive response to the prevailing attitudes of the time. It is the original feminist...read more

  • Lewis Carroll

    Alice is back in her room, stroking her cats - but not for long. Slipping through the looking-glass she meets another wild collection of fantasy characters including the Red and White Kings and Queens, Tweedledum and Tweedledee, and is entertained by the poems 'Jabberwocky' and 'The Walrus and the...read more

  • Francesca Kay

    Faith or delusion? Fantasy or fact? From the winner of the 2009 Orange New Writers Award comes a profound meditation on the nature of faith and a riveting story of religious passion gone tragically wrong in London. When word gets out that Mary-Margaret O’Reilly, a somewhat slow-witted but apparently harmless young woman, may have been witness to a miracle, religious mania descends on the Church of the Sacred Heart by the River Thames in Battersea, London. The consequences will be profound, not only for Mary-Margaret herself but for others too—Father Diamond, the parish priest, who is in the midst of his own lonely crisis of faith, and Stella Morrison, adrift in a loveless...read more

  • Colm Toibin

    2015 Audie Award Finalist for Literary Fiction From one of contemporary literature’s bestselling, critically acclaimed, and beloved authors: a “luminous” novel (Jennifer Egan, The New York Times Book Review) about a fiercely compelling young widow navigating grief, fear, and longing, and finding her own voice—“heartrendingly transcendant” (The New York Times, Janet Maslin). Set in Wexford, Ireland, Colm Tóibín’s magnificent seventh novel introduces the formidable, memorable, and deeply moving Nora Webster. Widowed at forty, with four children and not enough money, Nora has lost the love of her life, Maurice, the man who rescued her...read more

  • David Walliams

    Fly into a fiery and fantastical future with No. 1 bestselling author David Walliams, in an epic adventure of myth and legend, good and evil, and one small boy who must save the world… It is 2120 and London is in ruins. The young Prince Alfred has never known a life outside Buckingham Palace – but when strange goings-on breach its walls and stalk the corridors in the dead of night, he is thrust into a world of mystery, adventure and monsters. And when his mother, the Queen, is dragged away to the Tower of London, Alfred must screw up his courage and battle to save her, himself… and the entire city. In a future of myths and legends, join the bestselling David Walliams and...read more

  • David Walliams

    The UK's #1 bestselling children's author, David Walliams, is back with a fantastical tale of myth and legend, good and evil, and one small boy on a quest to save the world—chock-full of Walliams’s unmistakable humor and perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney and Roald Dahl. The kingdom has fallen into darkness. Prince Alfred has never left the safety of Buckingham Palace. But there are strange goings on inside the palace walls—and Alfred’s life is about to change forever. In the dead of night something terrible stalks the corridors. When Alfred’s beloved mother the queen is dragged off to the Tower of London, the boy must summon all his courage to embark on an epic quest to...read more