Searching for: "Joseph Balderrama"

  • James Marrison

    James Marrison's chilling debut, The Drowning Ground, will plunge readers into of the secrets, fears and lies of a small community. Perfect for fans of hit TV series Broadchurch and The Missing. 'DARK, GRIPPING AND UNEXPECTED' LINWOOD BARCLAY *** A man is found dead near his home with a pitchfork through his neck. When DCI Guillermo Downes is called to the scene he realizes the victim is well known to him. A decade earlier, Downes made a promise to the families of two missing girls that he would find their daughters. Although cleared of any involvement, the dead man had been a suspect in their disappearance. And as the ripples from his death spread through the local...read more

  • Jonathan Myerson

    After the October 1973 Arab-Israeli War, OPEC used an oil embargo to punish the US and Europe for its support for Israel. By early 1974, the embargo had plunged the world into an economic crisis. Then on 21st December 1975, Venezuelan Marxist pin-up Carlos the Jackal storms the OPEC HQ in Vienna. He takes 96 hostages, including 11 oil ministers from OPEC countries. This is the story of the siege. Zubin Varla and Joseph Balderrama star in Jonathan Myerson's thriller - a tense dramatisation of the real-life OPEC siege. One of a season of dramas exploring the history of oil - and the price we've paid for...read more

  • Simon Toyne

    The author of the acclaimed Sanctus trilogy conjures an eerie epic of good and evil, retribution and redemption—the first novel in the mesmerizing Solomon Creed series in which a man with no memory of his past must save a lost soul in a small Arizona town. On a hilltop in the town of Redemption, Arizona, the townspeople gather at an old cemetery for the first time in decades to bury a local man. The somber occasion is suddenly disrupted by a thunderous explosion in the distant desert. A plane has crashed, and it’s pouring a pillar of black smoke into the air. As Sheriff Garth Morgan speeds toward the crash, he nearly hits a tall, pale man running down the road, with no shoes on...read more

  • Simon Toyne

    The electrifying new thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author, Simon Toyne. Only one boy can see the darkness. Only one man can save him from it. 'Perfect for fans of Lee Child' Sun A MURDER An elderly tailor is found tortured and murdered in the ancient town of Cordes. Written in blood beside the body are the words: FINISHING WHAT WAS BEGUN. A SECRET But the dead man has left a cryptic message for his granddaughter and her son, Leo - one that puts them in immediate danger. A RACE They are forced to go on the run, accompanied by the enigmatic Solomon Creed. What began as small-town murder becomes a...read more

  • David Monnery

    Ultimate soldier. Ultimate mission. But can the SAS break in to a Colombian island prison and snatch an Argentine killer? 1996: a terminally ill father desperately seeks answers to what happened to his son, missing for twenty years. He has the names of two Argentine men - one in Mexico City, the other imprisoned on the Colombian island of Providencia - but no one to ask the questions. A missing girl's family have given her up for dead when they stumble upon a Miami newspaper story mentioning two of her friends. One has just died; the other, half-deranged, tells a garbled story of sexual slavery on a Caribbean island which sounds suspiciously like Providencia. ...read more

  • Shaun Clarke

    Ultimate soldier. Ultimate mission. But will the SAS be able to outfox the IRA as they prepare a deadly reprisal? May 1987: a successful SAS ambush results in the deaths of eight IRA terrorists in Loughgall. Knowing that retaliation is certain, and that Gibraltar has been selected by the IRA as a 'soft' target associated with British imperialism, British intelligence goes on the alert. Then two IRA members arrive in southern Spain under false names, and an Irishwoman, also using a false identity, visits the changing of the guard ceremony outside the Governor of Gibraltar's residence. Intelligence believes the ceremony is likely to be attacked, and the British...read more

  • Shaun Clarke

    Ultimate soldier. Ultimate mission. But will the SAS survive a nightmare journey into the tunnel lair of the Viet Cong? June 1966: 3 Squadron SAS (Australian Special Air Service) set up a Forward Operating Base in Vietnam's Phuoc Tuy province, a swampy hell of jungle and paddy-fields forty-five miles east of Saigon in the heart of enemy territory. The Viet Cong have bases throughout the jungle, and the Australians soon find themselves under constant attack. Enter three members of the legendary 22 SAS, to assist in a major assault against the Viet Cong: Sergeant Jimmy 'Jimbo' Ashman, founding member of the Regiment; Sergeant Richard 'Dead-eye Dick' Parker, veteran of...read more

  • Vernon Loder

    First published by Collins in 1928, this was the first of 22 mystery novels by Vernon Loder, one of the most popular British mystery-thriller writers of his generation. When a guest at Stowe House is found dead, killed by a lethal dart, suspicion naturally falls on the resident collector of poisoned weapons from tribes in South America. With the entire house party as potential suspects, what part did the woman explorer play in this sinister tragedy? The local police are baffled, and call on the help of an amateur, whose recent assignment working with bushmen in Africa brings new insight into an increasingly unconventional investigation . ....read more

  • David Monnery

    Ultimate soldier. Ultimate mission. But will the SAS succeed in rescuing one of their own from a fearsome drug cartel? The end of 1980s sees the rise of the cocaine cartels of Colombia, criminal organisations as powerful as armies, whose malign reach stretches from the coca fields of Bolivia to the streets of London and New York. Needing help in the training of its elite Anti-Narcotics Unit, the Colombian Government turns to Britain and the legendary SAS. Two veterans are dispatched to Bogotá. When one of them is kidnapped and held for ransom by the cartels, the only hope of securing his release seems to lie with the rest of the regiment back in England. ...read more

  • David Monnery

    Ultimate soldier. Ultimate mission. But can the SAS storm a fortress prison held by Muslim terrorists to rescue a group of British tourists? In 1994, in the newly independent state of Uzbekistan, a party of mostly British tourists is on a day excursion from the fabled city of Samarkand when Muslim fundamentalists hijack their bus. Unknown to the hijackers, this particular group contains recently retired ex-SAS sergeant Jamie Docherty, and the rebellious daughter of the British Foreign Minister, already a tabloid favourite back home. Uncertain how to respond to the terrorists' demands, the Uzbekistan government accepts a British offer of assistance: two members of the...read more

  • George MacDonald Fraser

    This is a beautiful, moving tale from the bestselling author of the 'Flashman Papers'. To the young Lady Margaret Dacre, raised in the rich security of Queen Elizabeth's court, the Scottish border was a land of blood and brutal violence, where raid and murder were commonplace, and her broad inheritance lay at the mercy of the outlaw riders and feuding tribes of England's last frontier. Beyond the law's protection, alone but for her house servants and an elderly priest, she could wait helpless in her lonely manor, or somehow find the means to fight the terror approaching from the northern...read more

  • Simon Toyne

    WHO IS SOLOMON CREED? The first in an electrifying new high concept series from Sunday Times bestselling author of SANCTUS, Simon Toyne A plane crash in the Arizona desert. An explosion that sets the world on fire. A damning pact to hide an appalling secret. And one man bound to expose the truth. He is Solomon Creed. No one knows what he is capable of. Not even him. When Solomon Creed flees the burning wreckage of a plane in the Arizona desert, seconds before an explosion sets the world alight, he is acting on instinct alone. He has no memory of his past, and no idea what his future holds. Running towards a...read more

  • Simon Toyne

    One secret could destroy a family. One lie could save them. The brilliant prequel to The Boy Who Saw, a gripping thriller from Sunday Times bestseller Simon Toyne, featuring the enigmatic Solomon Creed. A stranger Solomon Creed is an outsider with an unknown past, travelling through a remote part of Texas. He doesn't look for trouble - but trouble finds him. A family At a roadside diner, he runs into a worn-down family whose ancestral land and home is about to be auctioned. But when Solomon suspects it's worth a lot more than they think he decides to take things into his own hands. A secret As Solomon...read more

  • Paul Theroux

    The master of contemporary travel writing, Paul Theroux, immerses himself in the beautiful and troubled heart of modern Mexico Nogales is a border town caught between Mexico and the United States of America. A forty-foot steel fence runs through its centre, separating the prosperous US side from the impoverished Mexican side. It is a fascinating site of tension, now more than ever, as the town fills with hopeful border crossers and the deportees who have been caught and brought back. And it is here that Paul Theroux will begin his journey into the culturally rich but troubled heart of modern Mexico. Moving through the deserts just south of the Arizona border, Theroux finds a place...read more

  • James Smythe

    A global thriller presenting an apocalyptic vision of a world on the brink of despair and destruction. What would you do if the world was brought to a standstill? If you heard deafening static followed by the words, 'My children. Do not be afraid'? Would you turn to God? Subscribe to the conspiracy theories? Or put your faith in science and a rational explanation? The lives of all twenty-six people in this account are affected by the message. Most because they heard it. Some because they didn't. The Testimony - a gripping story of the world brought to its knees and of its people, confused and...read more