Searching for: "Julia Winwood"

  • Karen Perry

    Brought to you by Penguin. Leah is in love. It should be the happiest summer of her life, but she can't help feeling lonely with Jake's attention divided between her, his ex-wife and his young son. As insomnia sets in, the walls of their new basement flat feel as if they're closing in around her. Until she meets her upstairs neighbour, Anton, who has recently moved back in after a long absence from the street. He's a sympathetic ear when Jake can't be, and even though others on the street seem strangely hostile towards him, Leah soon comes to rely on Anton and their secret conversations in the night. Leah has no idea that fifteen years before, Anton was convicted of killing his wife....read more

  • Judith Flanders

    From a New York Times-bestselling historian comes the story of how the alphabet ordered our world. A Place for Everything is the first-ever history of alphabetization, from the Library of Alexandria to Wikipedia. The story of alphabetical order has been shaped by some of history's most compelling characters, such as industrious and enthusiastic early adopter Samuel Pepys and dedicated alphabet champion Denis Diderot. But though even George Washington was a proponent, many others stuck to older forms of classification -- Yale listed its students by their family's social status until 1886. And yet, while the order of the alphabet now rules -- libraries, phone books, reference...read more

  • Judith Flanders

    'Marvellous . . . I read it with astonished delight . . . It is equally scholarly and entertaining.' - Jan Morris 'Quirky and compelling.' - The Times Once we've learned it as children few of us think much of the alphabet and its familiar sing-song order. And yet the order if the alphabet, that simple knowledge that we take for granted, plays a major role in our adult lives. From the school register to the telephone book, from dictionaries and encyclopaedias to library shelves, our lives are ordered from A to Z. Long before Google searches, this magical system of organization gave us the ability to sift through centuries of thought, knowledge and literature, allowing us to sort, to...read more

  • Mandy Robotham

    Mandy Robotham’s highly awaited next book, The Secret Messenger, is available for preorder now. For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Kate Furnivall comes a gritty tale of courage, betrayal and love in the most unlikely of places. Also published as The German Midwife. ‘A powerful, haunting debut’ Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network ‘Incredibly powerful, harrowing but ultimately uplifting. I couldn’t put this down.’ Katie Fforde, author of A Rose Petal Summer ‘A fascinating story which had me forgetting it’s fiction! So well written, I...read more

  • Mandy Robotham

    The USA Today Best Seller. “A powerful, haunting debut”—Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network An enthralling new tale of courage, betrayal and survival in the hardest of circumstances that readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Secret Orphan and The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz will love. Germany, 1944. A prisoner in the camps, Anke Hoff is doing what she can to keep her pregnant campmates and their newborns alive.   But when Anke’s work is noticed, she is chosen for a task more dangerous than she could ever have imagined. Eva Braun is pregnant...read more

  • Lana Kortchik

    *The USA Today bestseller!* Can their bond survive under the shadow of occupation? For fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The German Midwife comes this unforgettable tale of love, loss, family, and the power of hope. Kiev, 1941: Watching the Red Army withdraw from Ukraine in the face of Hitler’s relentless advance, sisters Natasha and Lisa Smirnova realise their lives are about to change forever.   As the German army occupies their beloved city, the sisters are tested in ways they never thought possible. Lisa’s fiancé Alexei is taken by the invading army, whilst Natasha falls in love with Mark – a...read more

  • Kristina Spohr

    ‘A gripping and compelling account…. The peaceful ending of the Cold War between West and East remains one of the greatest achievements of modern statecraft’ CHRISTOPHER ANDREW, Literary Review This landmark global study makes us rethink what happened when the Cold War ended and our present era was born. The world changed dramatically as the Berlin Wall fell and protest turned to massacre in Tiananmen Square. Now, with deft analysis and a wealth of newly declassified archival sources, historian Kristina Spohr offers a bold and novel interpretation of the revolutionary upheaval of 1989 and, how in its aftermath, a new...read more

  • Sue Moorcroft

    A sparkling Christmas read from the Sunday Times bestseller – perfect to snuggle up with this winter! Hannah and Nico are meant to be together. But fate is keeping them apart… As soon as Hannah bumps into her brother Rob’s best friend Nico in Stockholm, the two rekindle a fast friendship. But Hannah has a boyfriend – and Nico has two children to look after. When Hannah loses her beloved shop in Stockholm, though, she is forced to move back to the little village of Middledip – only to find Nico has just moved in too. Under the same snowy sky, can the...read more

  • Susan Lewis

    Don’t miss the captivating new book from Sunday Times bestselling author Susan Lewis! High-flying lawyer Jessica Wells has it all. A successful career, loving husband Tom and a family she adores. But one case – and one client – will put all that at risk. Edward Blake. An ordinary life turned upside down – or a man who quietly watched television while his wife was murdered upstairs? With more questions than answers and a case too knotted to unravel, Jessica suspects he’s protecting someone. Then she comes home one day and her husband utters the words no one ever wants to hear. Sit down … I have something to tell you ...read more

  • Lana Kortchik

    A heart-wrenching novel of love, resilience and courage in World War II, from the author of Sisters of War – perfect for readers who loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The German Midwife. Ukraine, 1943 On a train from Ukraine to Germany, Lisa Smirnova is terrified for her life. The train is under Nazi command, heading for one of Hitler’s rumoured labour camps. As she is taken away from everything she holds dear, Lisa wonders if she will ever see her family again. In Nazi-occupied Kiev, Irina Antonova knows she could be arrested at any moment. Trapped in a job registering the endless deaths of the people...read more

  • Susan Lewis

    Don’t miss the captivating new book from the internationally bestselling author Susan Lewis! High-flying lawyer Jessica Wells has it all. A successful career, loving husband Tom and a family she adores. But one case – and one client – will put all that at risk. Edward Blake. An ordinary life turned upside down – or a man who quietly watched television while his wife was murdered upstairs? With more questions than answers and a case too knotted to unravel, Jessica suspects he’s protecting someone… Then she comes home one day and her husband utters the words no one ever wants to hear. Sit down… because I've got something to...read more

  • Lucy Foley

    *The No.1 New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller* Discover the new murder mystery thriller from the No.1, million-copy bestseller, Lucy Foley ‘Dazzling’ The Times ‘Compelling, up-all-night reading’ Erin Kelly ‘Atmosphere you can cut with a knife’Alex Michaelides ‘Gloriously twisty’ Ruth Ware ‘Combines edge-of-your-seat tension with out-and-out Parisian chic’ Adele Parks In a beautiful old apartment block, deep in the backstreets of Paris, secrets are stirring behind every resident’s door. The lonely wife The party animal The curtain-twitcher The secret lover The...read more

  • Lana Kortchik

    A heart-wrenching novel of love, resilience and courage in World War II, from the author of Sisters of War – perfect for readers who loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The German Midwife. Ukraine, 1943 On a train from Ukraine to Germany, Lisa Smirnova is terrified for her life. The train is under Nazi command, heading for one of Hitler’s rumoured labour camps. As she is taken away from everything she holds dear, Lisa wonders if she will ever see her family again. In Nazi-occupied Kiev, Irina Antonova knows she could be arrested at any moment. Trapped in a job registering the endless deaths of the people...read more

  • Lucy Foley

    THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER “Told in rotating points of view, this Tilt-A-Whirl of a novel brims with jangly tension – an undeniably engrossing guessing game.”  — Vogue '[A] clever, cliff-hanger-filled thriller.' — People From the New York Times bestselling author of The Guest List comes a new locked room mystery, set in a Paris apartment building in which every resident has something to hide…  Jess needs a fresh start. She’s broke and alone, and she’s just left her job under less than ideal circumstances. Her half-brother Ben didn’t sound thrilled when she asked if she could crash with him for a bit, but...read more