Searching for: "Katie Schorr"

  • Lauren Spieller

    Ferris Bueller's Day Off meets 10 Things I Hate About You in this fun, contemporary novel about two sisters who have twenty-four hours to fulfill a pact and overcome the secret that threatens to tear them apart. Sisters April and Jenn haven't been close in years. Jenn's too busy with school, the family antique shop, and her boyfriend, and April would rather play soccer and hang out with the boy next door. But when April notices her older sister is sad about staying home for college, she decides to do something about it. The girls set off to revive a pact they made as kids: spend an epic day exploring the greatest hits of their childhood and all that Los Angeles has to offer. Then April...read more

  • Ocelot Emerson

    Twelve-year-old Bertie Blount is great at causing trouble. When she’s forced to leave behind her dad and friends in North Carolina so her mom can marry the most boring optometrist in the world, Bertie has a chance at a fresh start. But when Bertie arrives in Pennsylvania, she doesn’t just bring trouble; she brings disaster. In a moment of anger, Bertie unwittingly triggers an accident that puts her future stepbrother in a coma. Broken and desperate to make things right, Bertie prays for a miracle. Instead, the universe gives her a pair of supernatural sunglasses, a wise-cracking doppelganger, and a terrifying ghost that sends Bertie on a dangerous mission to find the one thing...read more

  • Disney Book Group

    When Gabby Duran moves to quiet Havensburg with her successful mom and overachieving little sister, she's recruited by her school principal for a special babysitting gig. The fearless and unapologetically bold new girl in town soon discovers her young charges aren't your standard unruly kids. They are very important extra-terrestrial children hiding on Earth with their families, and it's her job to protect them and their secret identities, and prove she's the best babysitter in the...read more

  • Ginger Zee

    Battered, bruised, but alive, Helicity Dunlap rides out a hurricane in the Bolivar Peninsula Lighthouse in Texas. She somehow manages to keep herself safe, and to even rescue a lost dog in the process. After a day in the hospital, she, her mom, and Sam make the two-day drive back to Western Michigan. They leave Andy and their dad behind, as Andy is finally going to get the help he needs in an addiction rehabilitation facility. Much to her dismay, Helicity ends up in the spotlight—first in a good way after surviving the hurricane and rescuing the dog—but then social media turns on her, and she finds herself in the eye of a completely different kind of storm. Back at school,...read more

  • Nora Zelevansky

    An Entertainment Weekly Pick of Summer's Best New Books Wren's closest friend, her anchor since childhood, is dead. Stewart Beasley. Gone. She can't quite believe it and she definitely can't bring herself to google what causes an aneurysm. Instead of weeping or facing reality, Wren has been dreaming up the perfect funeral plans, memorial buffets, and processional songs for everyone from the corner bodega owner to her parents (none of whom show signs of imminent demise). Stewart was a rising TV star, who-for reasons Wren struggles to understand-often surrounded himself with sycophants, amusing in his life, but intolerable in his death. When his icy mother assigns Wren the task of...read more

  • Kim Michele Richardson

    Revisit the packhorse librarians of Kentucky with this stunning companion to the New York Times bestseller The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek. In the ruggedness of the beautiful Kentucky mountains, Honey Lovett has always known that the old ways can make a hard life harder. As the daughter of the famed blue-skinned, Troublesome Creek packhorse librarian, Honey and her family have been hiding from the law all her life. But when her mother and father are imprisoned, Honey realizes she must fight to stay free, or risk being sent away for good. Picking up her mother’s old packhorse library route, Honey begins to deliver books to the remote hollers of Appalachia. Honey is looking to...read more

  • Rektok Ross

    Six teens, one dog, a ski trip gone wrong Sam is dreading senior ski weekend and having to watch after her brother and his best friend, Gavin, to make sure they don’t do anything stupid. Again. Gavin may be gorgeous, but he and Sam have never gotten along. Now they’re crammed into an SUV with three other classmates and Gavin’s dog, heading on a road trip that can’t go by fast enough. Then their SUV crashes into a snowbank, and Sam and her friends find themselves stranded in the mountains with cell phone coverage long gone and temperatures dropping. When the group gets sick of waiting for rescue, they venture outside to find help—only to have a wilderness accident leave...read more

  • Beth Harbison

    Beth Harbison, New York Times bestselling author of The Cookbook Club, has written her strongest novel yet: a story filled with humor, heart and a little bit of snark. This unforgettable story about two very different sisters who must come together and face their past if they can make their future better is perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner, Sophia Kinsella, and Christina Lauren. They were two sisters with nothing in common but their parents. Frances Turner has a confession to make: her sister, Crosby, who has built her life on good luck and good looks, drives her crazy. The woman wakes up in the morning with perfect hair. Men flock to her. And she somehow...read more

  • Melody Warnick

    Even when your job can be done from anywhere, the place you call home still matters―a lot. By the old rules of work, your dream career determines where you live. If you want to make movies, move to Los Angeles. If you want to work in publishing, you must be in New York. And if you’re launching a start-up, you’ll only succeed in Silicon Valley. But with the meteoric rise of remote and freelance work, more people than ever are becoming location independent. Even doctors, teachers, and other people in more traditional occupations have to make tough choices about where they settle, because living in the right place can still make all the difference for your success and...read more