Searching for: "Luis Moreno"

  • James Patterson

    THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! From America’s most beloved superstar and its greatest storyteller— a thriller about a young singer-songwriter on the rise and on the run, and determined to do whatever it takes to survive. Every song tells a story.  She’s a star on the rise, singing about the hard life behind her.  She’s also on the run. Find a future, lose a past.  Nashville is where she’s come to claim her destiny.  It’s also where the darkness she’s fled might find her.  And destroy her.  Run, Rose, Run is a novel glittering with danger and desire—a story that only...read more

  • Juan Felipe Herrera

    An inspiring tribute to Hispanic Americans who have made a positive impact on the world This visually stunning book showcases twenty Hispanic and Latino American men and women who have made outstanding contributions to the arts, politics, science, humanitarianism, and athletics. Gorgeous portraits complement sparkling biographies of Cesar Chavez, Sonia Sotomayor, Ellen Ochoa, Roberto Clemente, and many more. Complete with timelines and famous quotes, this tome is a magnificent homage to those who have shaped our nation. In this volume: Adelina Otero-Warren, Bernardo de Galvez, Cesar Chavez, David Farragut, Dennis Chavez, Desi Arnaz, Dolores Huerta, Ellen Ochoa, Helen Rodriguez Trias, Hero...read more

  • Craig Taylor

    A symphony of contemporary New York through the magnificent words of its people—from the best-selling author of Londoners. In the first twenty years of the twenty-first century, New York City has been convulsed by terrorist attack, blackout, hurricane, recession, social injustice, and pandemic. New Yorkers weaves the voices of some of the city's best talkers into an indelible portrait of New York in our time--and a powerful hymn to the vitality and resilience of its people.   Best-selling author Craig Taylor has been hailed as 'a peerless journalist and a beautiful craftsman' (David Rakoff), and acclaimed for the way he 'fuses the mundane truth of conversation with...read more

  • Sparknotes

    Don’t be intimidated by Shakespeare! These popular guides make the Bard’s plays accessible and enjoyable. Each No Fear guide contains: - The complete text of the original play - A line-by-line translation that puts Shakespeare into everyday language - A complete list of characters with descriptions - Plenty of helpful commentary When Shakespeare’s words make your head spin, our audio translations will help you sort out what’s happening, who’s saying what, and...read more

  • Sparknotes

    Don’t be intimidated by Shakespeare! These popular guides make the Bard’s plays accessible and enjoyable. Each No Fear guide contains: - The complete text of the original play - A line-by-line translation that puts Shakespeare into everyday language - A complete list of characters with descriptions - Plenty of helpful commentary When Shakespeare’s words make your head spin, our audio translations will help you sort out what’s happening, who’s saying what, and...read more

  • James Patterson

    Brought to you by Penguin. THE GLOBAL NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER, SET TO BECOME A HIT MOVIE PRODUCED BY REESE WITHERSPOON AND STARRING DOLLY PARTON FIND A FUTURE. LOSE A PAST. She's a star on the rise, singing about the hard life behind her. She's also on the run. Nashville is where she's come to claim her destiny. It's also where the darkness she's fled might find her. And destroy her . . . RUN ROSE RUN: a story glittering with danger and desire. Also available: an album of 12 original Dolly Parton songs made for the novel! 'Told with passion and sensitivity' DAILY MAIL 'Will have you rooting for them all the way' GUARDIAN 'Like having Dolly in the room with you'...read more

  • Brando Skyhorse

    Reminiscent of Sherman Alexie and Sandra Cisneros, acclaimed author Brando Skyhorse’s “engaging storytelling” (Vanity Fair) brings the Echo Park neighborhood of Los Angeles to life in this poignant and propulsive novel following several generations of Mexican immigrants through their shifting cultural and physical landscapes. The Madonnas of Echo Park is both a grand mural of a Los Angeles neighborhood and an intimate glimpse into the lives of the men and women who struggle to lose their ethnic identity in the pursuit of the American dream. Each chapter summons a different voice—poetic, fierce, comic. We meet Hector, a day laborer who trolls the streets for work...read more

  • Mary Morris

    From award-winning novelist Mary Morris comes the remarkable story of a remote New Mexican town coming to grips with a dark history it never imagined. In 1492, the Jewish and Muslim populations of Spain were expelled, and Columbus set sail for America. Luis de Torres, a Spanish Jew, accompanies Columbus as his interpreter. His journey is only the beginning of a long migration, across many generations. Over the centuries, de Torres' descendants travel from Spain and Portugal to Mexico, finally settling in the hills of New Mexico. Five hundred years later, it is in these same hills that Miguel Torres, a young amateur astronomer, finds himself trying to understand the mystery that surrounds...read more

  • Oscar Casares

    Oscar Casares' debut collection of short stories was selected as an ALA Notable book and received tremendous praise from publications ranging from the New York Times and the Washington Post to Entertainment Weekly. These nine stories follow a collection of unforgettable characters trying to get by while living in the South Texas border town of...read more

  • Oscar Casares

    Recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, critically acclaimed short-story writer Oscar Casares delivers a heartfelt and humorous first novel. Stubborn brothers Don Fidencio and Don Celestino are getting old and have let a family argument divide them for too long. So with the help of his good-natured housekeeper, Don Celestino liberates his brother from a nursing home, and they hit the road to solve the mystery at the heart of their...read more

  • Carlos Castaneda

    For over 40 years, Carlos Castaneda's The Teachings of Don Juan has inspired audiences to expand their world view beyond traditional Western forms. Originally published as Castaneda's master's thesis in anthropology, Teachings documents Castaneda's supposed apprenticeship with a Yaqui Indian sorcerer, don Juan Matus. Dividing the work into two sections, Castaneda begins by describing don Juan's philosophies, then continues with his own...read more

  • Carlos Castaneda

    Carlos Castanada was a student of anthropology when he met Don Juan Matus, a Yaqui shaman and the inspiration for Castanada's The Teachings of Don Juan. In this controversial work, Castanada relays his experiences being challenged by his mentor on his perception of the world and all living things in...read more

  • Carlos Castaneda

    With The Teachings of Don Juan, Carlos Castaneda chronicled a journey of enlightenment under the tutelage of Yaqui Indian guru don Juan. Having sold more than eight million copies of his books around the world, Castaneda inspires countless readers with his rich and awareness-expanding...read more

  • Justice Stephen Breyer

    Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer delivers an impassioned argument for the proper role of America's highest judicial body. Examining historic and contemporary decisions by the Court, Breyer highlights the rulings that have bolstered public confidence as well as the missteps that have triggered distrust. What emerges is a unique approach-certain to be admired for years to come-to interpreting the...read more

  • Eugene Linden

    Award-winning journalist Eugene Linden has written numerous critically acclaimed works on the environment. In The Ragged Edge of the World, Linden recounts his experiences in locales ranging from Vietnam to Antarctica, offering an intimate look at creatures and cultures struggling to adapt to...read more

  • Robert Jackson Bennett

    Best-selling author Robert Jackson Bennett has won widespread critical acclaim for his unique brand of darkly inventive fiction. In The Troupe, 16-year-old George Carole joins vaudeville in search of Heironomo Silenus, the man he believes to be his father. But what he discovers casts a dark pall over his world: Silenus' troupe hides a dangerous secret -- one that invites death to all in its...read more

  • Jairo Buitrago

    Jimmy lives in a small Caribbean town where there's not a whole lot to do. Fortunately though, there is a boxing gym, and one day the owner, Don Apolinar, suggests that Jimmy start training. He also gives Jimmy a cardboard box full of books and newspaper clippings all about Muhammad Ali. Jimmy reads and re-reads as he never has before. He is swept with admiration for Ali who said, 'I am the greatest. I said that even before I knew I was.' He starts to feel good, realizing that he doesn't need to have a lot of fancy stuff, that he's a pretty good boxer himself, and that he can look forward to the future. But by the time Don Apolinar has to leave for the big city, Jimmy realizes that he can...read more

  • Rae Carson

    “I love this series to pieces and so should you.”—Marie Lu, bestselling author of Warcross The third book in Rae Carson’s award-winning and New York Times–bestselling trilogy! In the deeply satisfying conclusion, seventeen-year-old sorcerer-queen Elisa travels into the unknown realm of the enemy to win back her true love, save her country, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Brandon Sanderson. The champion must not waver. The champion must not fear. The gate of darkness closes. Elisa is a fugitive. Her enemies have stolen the man she loves, and they await her at the gate of darkness. Her country is on the brink of civil war,...read more

  • Duncan Tonatiuh

    In this allegorical picture book, a young rabbit named Pancho eagerly awaits his papa' s return. Papa Rabbit traveled north two years ago to find work in the great carrot and lettuce fields to earn money for his family. When Papa does not return, Pancho sets out to find him. He packs Papa' s favorite meal-- mole, rice and beans, a heap of warm tortillas, and a jug of aguamiel-- and heads north. He meets a coyote, who offers to help Pancho in exchange for some of Papa' s food. They travel together until the food is gone and the coyote decides he is still hungry . . . for Pancho! Duncan Tonatiuh brings to light the hardship and struggles faced by thousands of families who seek to make better...read more

  • Greg Grandin

    From the acclaimed author of Fordlandia, the story of a remarkable slave rebellion that illuminates America' s struggle with slavery and freedom during the Age of Revolution and beyond One morning in 1805, off a remote island in the South Pacific, Captain Amasa Delano, a New England seal hunter, climbed aboard a distressed Spanish ship carrying scores of West Africans he thought were slaves. They weren' t. Having earlier seized control of the vessel and slaughtered most of the crew, they were staging an elaborate ruse, acting as if they were humble servants. When Delano, an idealistic, anti-slavery republican, finally realized the deception, he responded with explosive violence. Drawing on...read more