Searching for: "Olivia Forrest"

  • Elizabeth Gaskell

    Brought to you by Penguin. This Penguin Classic is performed by Olivia Forrest. This definitive recording includes an introduction by Laura Keanzler. Elizabeth Gaskell's chilling Gothic tales blend the real and the supernatural to eerie, compelling effect. 'Disappearances', inspired by local legends of mysterious vanishings, mixes gossip and fact; 'Lois the Witch', a novella based on an account of the Salem witch hunts, shows how sexual desire and jealousy lead to hysteria; while in 'The Old Nurse's Story' a mysterious child roams the freezing Northumberland moors. Whether darkly surreal, such as 'The Poor Clare', where an evil doppelgänger is formed by a woman's bitter curse, or...read more

  • Menna Van Praag

    Brought to you by Penguin. And then there were three . . . Three years ago, the sisters confronted their demon father in that strange other-world called Everwhere. It was a battle that ended in a devastating loss, and the scars they carry seem to have slowly pushed the sisters apart . . . One sister, still raw with grief, is now a near recluse but determined to use her powers to resurrect what she has lost. Another has made the journey to learn more of her family, her culture and her roots. And another seems to have turned her back on what she is and opted to lead a more normal life. But now the sisters are about to be brought together once more. Because when the clock...read more

  • Imogen Crimp

    'Tender, devastating, witty. And deeply true. Sweetbitter meets Normal People.” —Meg Mason, author of Sorrow and Bliss For readers of Sweetbitter and Luster, a razor-sharp debut novel about an ambitious young opera singer caught between devotion to her craft and an all-consuming affair with an older man Anna knows she has talent, but she’s always felt out of place in the world of opera. A first-year student at a prestigious London conservatoire, she lives in a grim series of rented rooms with her friend Laurie, a sharp-tongued waitress and aspiring writer. Her days are devoted to highly competitive auditions and long, straining rehearsals. At night, she sings jazz in an...read more

  • Michael Carroll

    Brought to you by Penguin. United States of America, 2051 A.D. It has been twenty years since Eustace Fargo's justice bill was passed. There are new weapons on the streets and vast city blocks rising to the sky, as the first human being sets out to visit another star system. New York, California and Texas cry out for autonomy, chafing against a federal government they feel has lost control. Reeling from news of Chief Justice Fargo's death in service, the nation asks: has it all been worth it? © Michael Carroll, C. E. Murphy, and Zina Hutton (P) Penguin Audio and Rebellion Publishing...read more

  • Walburga Appleseed

    The Princess and the Prick is a feminist humour and gift book for adults. May I kiss you, he said. She didn't answer. She was asleep. So he kissed her anyway. SLEEPING BEAUTY Revisit childhood classics, but not as you remember them. Familiar fables are turned on their heads as your beloved heroines finally have their say. Think Ladybird for Adults or Enid Blyton spoofs; The Princess and the Prick flips fairy tales, nursery rhymes and children’s books on their head. Retold through a feminist lens as one liners, verses and rhyming...read more

  • Sera Milano

    A compelling, heartbreaking and hopeful book for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Jennifer Niven and Holly Jackson. In the unremarkable town of Amberside, the unthinkable has happened: Terrorists have attacked a local festival. No one knows why, and no one knows who the attackers are, but that doesn’t matter. What matters first is survival. And what matters after that is survival, too. In this brilliantly written account of hope, humour and humanity, five ordinary teenagers are caught up in a truly extraordinary situation. It’s a heart-pounding and gripping account of the fight for survival as the attackers prowl the festival...read more

  • Nat Luurtsema

    Dr Dolittle meets Kid Normal in a hilarious middle grade superhero series from comedian Nat Luurtsema. Perfect for fans of David Baddiel, My Brother is a Superhero and Lightning Girl 10-year-old Opie Jones is Very Ordinary. In fact nothing remarkable has ever happened to her, if you don’t count the cat that gives her funny looks from next door (which she doesn’t). So she is naturally very surprised when she is recruited to join The Resistance – a team of superheroes who can read minds, and have a dastardly brainwashing villain to defeat. HOWEVER it turns out Opie can’t read human minds, she can read ANIMAL ones. The other members of the...read more

  • Holly Jackson

    The New York Times No.1 bestselling YA crime thriller that everyone is talking about! THE WINNER OF THE BRITISH BOOK AWARD'S CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE YEAR 2020 SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE 2020 The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it. But having grown up in the same small town that was consumed by the crime, Pippa Fitz-Amobi isn't so sure. When she chooses the case as the topic for her final project, she starts to uncover secrets that someone...read more

  • Nat Luurtsema

    Dr Dolittle meets Kid Normal in a hilarious middle grade superhero series that tells you what your pets are really thinking, from Bafta-nominated comedian Nat Luurtsema In her second hilarious adventure, animal mindreader Opie Jones is off to Scotland to join her dad on the set of his Scottish medical TV show, Highland Docs, accompanied by friends Jackson and Cillian, as well as Margot, the cat with attitude, and Opie’s super-keen new sidekick, Slug (an actual slug). But before they get the chance to try out their acting skills, dastardly villain Varling and his band of brainwashers are back with an evil new plan! Can Opie and the gang (plus a...read more

  • I. P. Daley

    Dennis and Gnasher are back for three action-packed audio adventures! The Battle for Bash Street School – When mysterious new teachers arrive to lay down the law at notoriously naughty Bash Street School, Dennis, Gnasher and friends finally face a classroom test they simply can’t afford to fail.   The Abominable Snowmeance – When mysterious smelly footprints lead the gang to the school kitchen, they find themselves in a race against time to save their new best friend. The seasons are changing, and the fate of an entire species lies in their hands …   Attack of the Evil Veg – Run for your lives! An army of giant, carnivorous vegetables has sprouted to rule...read more

  • Menna Van Praag

    All Hallows’ Eve meets All Saints’ Day in critically acclaimed author Menna van Praag’s mesmerizing second book featuring the Sisters Grimm—a dark, contemporary fantasy that skillfully blends love, obsession, and dark magic. After the battle with their demon father ends in a devastating loss, the Grimm sisters are separated. But, now three years later, as their twenty-first birthday approaches, dark fate brings them together once more.  For Goldie, this birthday is overshadowed by sorrow. She cannot forget the outcome of that battle, the devastating tragedy that has wreaked havoc on her already turbulent waking life. While her sisters have thrown themselves into their own...read more