Searching for: "Sarah Barron"

  • G. R. Halliday

    Random House presents the audiobook edition of From the Shadows written by G.R. Halliday, read by Sarah Barron. A stunning, atmospheric police procedural set against the grit of Inverness and the raw beauty of the Scottish Highlands, this is the first book in the DI Monica Kennedy series. Sixteen-year-old Robert arrives home late. Without a word to his dad, he goes up to his bedroom. Robert is never seen alive again. A body is soon found on the coast of the Scottish Highlands. Detective Inspector Monica Kennedy stands by the victim in this starkly beautiful and remote landscape. Instinct tells her the case won’t begin and end with this one death. Meanwhile, Inverness-based...read more

  • G. R. Halliday

    Brought to you by Penguin. THREE MISTAKES. TWO MURDERS. ONE MORE VICTIM TO GO . . . Annabelle has come to the Scottish Highlands to escape. But as she speeds along a deserted mountain road, she is suddenly forced to swerve. The next thing she remembers is waking up in a dark, damp room. A voice from the corner of the room says 'The Doctor will be here soon'. Scott is camping alone in the Scottish woodlands when he hears a scream. He starts to run in fear of his life. Scott is never seen again. Meanwhile DI Monica Kennedy has been called to her first Serious Crimes case in six months - a dismembered body has been discovered, abandoned in a dam. Days later, when another victim...read more

  • Sarah Simpson

    I know everything about you. And you know everything about me... except WHO I AM. Andi met Camilla at university. Instantly best friends, they shared everything together… until their long-planned graduation celebration ended in tragedy. Years later, Andi is living a seemingly perfect life on the rugged Cornish coast with her loving husband, happy children and dream home. Yet, Andi is haunted by a secret she thought only she knew. Someone out there is bringing Andi's deepest fears to life. And she knows there's no escaping the past... You trusted me with your secrets, you told me everything, you thought I was your best friend... but you have no idea WHO I AM. Gripping, unputdownable and...read more

  • Val McDermid

    Val McDermid is one of the finest crime writers we have, whose novels have captivated millions of listeners worldwide with their riveting narratives of characters who solve complex crimes and confront unimaginable evil. In the course of researching her bestselling novels, McDermid has become familiar with ever branch of forensics, and now she uncovers the history of this science, real-world murders, and the people who must solve them. The dead talk-to the right listener. They can tell us about themselves: where they came from, how they lived, how they died, and, of course, who killed them. Forensic scientists can unlock the mysteries of the past and help serve justice using the messages...read more

  • Jenny Colgan

    The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand. Years ago, Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up -- and she hasn't looked back. What would have done on Mure? It's a place where everyone has known her all her life, where no one will let her forget the past. In bright, bustling London, she can be anonymous, ambitious... and hopeleslly in love with her boss. But when fate brings Flora back to the island, she's suddenly swept once more into life with her brothers -- all strapping, loud, and seemingly incapable of basic housework -- and her father. Yet even amid the chaos of...read more

  • Chris Brookmyre

    The much anticipated follow up to the bestselling Where the Bodies are Buried - the hugely successful new crime series from Chris Brookmyre Private investigator Jasmine Shar has been hired to find Tessa Garrion, a young woman who has vanished without trace. What begins as a simple search awakens a malevolence that has lain dormant for three decades. As Jasmine uncovers a hidden history of sex, drugs, ritualism and murder, which links Glasgow's high society to the lowest depths of the underworld, she realises she may need a little help from the dark side herself if she's going to get to the...read more

  • Chris Brookmyre

    How far would you go to protect the people you love? Would you take a fall? Would you take a bullet? Would you take a life? When her father's killer, Glen Fallan, is arrested for another murder, PI Jasmine Sharp enters an underworld where violence is a way of life and vengeance spans generations. DS Catherine McLeod has one major Glaswegian gangster in the mortuary and another in the cells for killing him - which ought to be cause for celebration. But this case is far more dangerous than it appears on the surface, deeper than skin, darker than...read more

  • Chris Brookmyre

    Jane Bell had dreamt of playing in the casinos of Monte Carlo, but in her punk phase she got herself pregnant and now she's forty-six. She's a grandmother, her dreams as dry as the dust her Dyson sucks up from her hall carpet. Then her son Ross, a researcher working for an arms manufacturer, is forced to disappear and to part with the secrets of his research. Jane will finally get the adventure she's always wanted, but at a...read more

  • Elisabeth Gifford

    Scotland, 1860. Reverend Alexander Ferguson takes up his new parish, an isolated patch on the Hebridean island of Harris. His time there will change his life, but the Sea House, on the edge of the dunes keeps its silence long after Alexander departs. More than a century later, Ruth and Michael buy the grand but dilapidated building for the family they hope to have. But their dreams are marred by a shocking...read more

  • Chris Brookmyre

    From the award-winning author of Pandaemonium. In Glasgow, aspiring actress Jasmine Sharp is reluctantly - and incompetently - earning a crust working for her uncle Jim's private investigation business. When Jim goes missing, Jasmine has to take on the investigator mantle for real. Soon she stumbles into a web of corruption and decades-hidden secrets that could tear apart an entire police force - if she can stay alive long enough to tell the...read more

  • Val McDermid

    The dead talk. To the right listener, they tell us all about themselves: how they lived, how they died - and who killed them. Val McDermid uncovers the secrets of forensic medicine with ground-breaking research and her own experience. Along the way you'll wonder at how maggots collected from a corpse can help determine time of death and how a DNA trace a millionth the size of a grain of salt can be used to convict a...read more

  • Jenny Colgan

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Bookshop on the Corner and The Cafe by the Sea comes another enchanting, unforgettable novel of a woman who makes a fresh start on the beautiful Scottish Island of Mure—only to discover life has more surprises in store for her. When Flora MacKenzie traded her glum career in London for the remote Scottish island of Mure, she never dreamed that Joel—her difficult, adorable boss—would follow. Yet now, not only has Flora been reunited with her family and opened a charming café by the sea, but she and Joel are taking their first faltering steps into romance. With Joel away on business in New York, Flora is preparing for the next...read more

  • Jenny Colgan

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Café by the Sea—whose novels are “an evocative, sweet treat” (JOJO MOYES)—comes this heartwarming holiday novel set on a charming Scottish island. On the remote Scottish island of Mure, the Christmas season is stark, windy, and icy—yet incredibly festive and beautiful... It's a time for getting cozy in front of whisky barrel wood fires, and enjoying a dram and a treacle pudding with the people you love—unless, of course, you've accidentally gotten pregnant by your ex-boss, and don't know how to tell him. In the season for peace and good cheer, will Flora find the nerve to reveal the truth to her nearest and dearest? Will...read more

  • Amanda Ridings

    This is a book for our times. It is for leaders, coaches and other practitioners who are searching for inspiration as they reflect on their leadership experiences and practice. It is a collection of fifty two short pieces, written to invite you to connect with similar moments in your own life and work and to consider them more probingly. The book is meant to be read slowly – it is a written 'thought for the week'. The narratives are prompted by the author's personal experiences and by thought-provoking themes brought to her attention by her executive coaching clients or by events in the world. Many of them highlight the 'gap' between our leadership aspirations...read more

  • Mairi Chong

    Physician Cathy Moreland needs time to heal, having recently been diagnosed with bipolar disorder while struggling with a painkiller habit. The little village of Kinnaven promises respite, but after Cathy attempts to get an opiate prescription, things don't go well. When she discovers the body of the local Dr Cosgrove, her sanctuary is shattered. Before long, Cathy is swept up in local gossip about the death. Decades earlier, the cliff where Cosgrove died had been the site of another tragedy, leading some to suspicions about the doctor's demise. But as Cathy determines to learn the truth, she will find herself in grave...read more

  • Doug Johnstone

    Keeping on top of the family funeral directors' and private-investigation businesses is no easy task for the Skelf women, and when matriarch Dorothy discovers a human foot while walking the dog, a perplexing case presents itself . . . Daughter Jenny and granddaughter Hannah have their hands full too: The mysterious circumstances of a dying woman lead them into an unexpected family drama, Hannah's new astrophysicist colleague claims he's receiving messages from outer space, and the Skelfs' teenaged lodger has yet another devastating experience. Nothing is clear as the women are immersed ever deeper in their most challenging cases yet. When the daughter of Jenny's violent and fugitive...read more

  • Matt Wesolowski

    When pop megastar Zach Crystal dies in a fire at his remote mansion, his mysterious demise rips open the bitter divide between those who adored his music and his endless charity work, and those who viewed him as a despicable predator, who manipulated and abused young and vulnerable girls. Online journalist, Scott King, whose Six Stories podcasts have become an internet sensation, investigates the accusations of sexual abuse and murder that were levelled at Crystal before he died. But as Scott begins to ask questions and rake over old graves, some startling inconsistencies emerge: Was the fire at Crystal's remote home really an accident? Are reports of a haunting really true? Why was he...read more

  • Douglas Skelton

    In 1752, Seamus a'Ghlynne, James of the Glen, was executed for the murder of government man Colin Campbell. He was almost certainly innocent. When banners are placed at his gravesite claiming that his namesake, James Stewart, is innocent of murder, reporter Rebecca Connolly smells a story. The young Stewart has been in prison for ten years for the brutal murder of his lover, lawyer and politician Murdo Maxwell. Rebecca soon discovers that Maxwell believed he was being followed prior to his murder and his phones were tapped. As Rebecca keeps digging, she finds herself in the sights of Inverness crime matriarch Mo Burke, who wants payback for the damage caused to her family in a previous...read more