Book Rating (1338)
Narrator Rating (52)

Before We Were Yours: A Novel

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com
CD Rental On Simply Audiobooks

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "Before We Were Yours: A Novel" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Catherine Taber, Emily Rankin

14 Hours 29 Minutes

Random House (Audio)

June 2017

Audio Book Summary

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

*Library Journal

Publishers Weekly’s #3 Longest-Running Bestseller of 2017 • Winner of the Southern Book Prize • If All Arkansas Read the Same Book Selection 

“A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets.”—People

“Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you’ll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann’s legacy.”—Parade

Similar Audio Books

Reviews

  • Cassie S

    This was the most fabulous book and the narration was so touching. I had no idea that this was historical fiction prior to listening to it and recommend this highly! I usually only listen in the car and had to find excuses to get into the car as it neared the end!

    Book Rating

  • colleen c

    Fascinating story and scary because it actually happened since many cases. The book was so well-written I felt like I knew these people intimately! I got through it very quickly and was very sad when it was over

    Book Rating

  • Corey R.

    Narration was fantastic and the book was a total "hit"!

    Book Rating

  • Susan W.

    Great narration on this book. The story was split in two time periods going back and forth every other chapter. The earlier time framed chapters were much better written and far more interesting. The reader really made you feel like the child in the story was actually telling you her story from her 12 year old perspective. The later time period chapters sounded like a Hallmark story, unfortunately. But every other chapter was so good, it was well worth the listen. I love historical fiction books and this was a good one!

    Book Rating

  • Pam W.

    Narrator was phenomenal. Story was devastating but we'll told and it's sticking with me days after I've finished it.

    Book Rating

  • Janet G.

    What a compelling story told in such a creative way! This is the kind of book that touches your heart while teaching you something about history that you probably didn't know.

    Book Rating

  • Lisa D.

    I listen to audio books when I commute from work. This book was so well written and narrated that I wanted to drive and drive and drive to hear what would happen next. I could hardly wait to head home after work every day. Very touching story of love and love lost. Highly recommend!

    Book Rating

  • Mistey M.

    Fabulous book ! The narration was wonderful !! I felt like I was there

    Book Rating

  • Itzik L.

    Great story, love it.

    Book Rating

  • Mayda T.

    Riveting and wonderful

    Book Rating