Book Rating
Narrator Rating

Mark Steel’s in Town: Series 9 & 10: The BBC Radio 4 Comedy Series

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On
Stream On

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "Mark Steel’s in Town: Series 9 & 10: The BBC Radio 4 Comedy Series" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.






Mark Steel

4 Hours 12 Minutes

Penguin Books LTD

June 2021

Audio Book Summary

The complete ninth and tenth series of Mark Steel's comedy travelogue

In these two series of the award-winning BBC Radio 4 show, comedian Mark Steel is on the road again, visiting places that have nothing in common but their uniqueness. Along the way, he delves into the history, heritage and culture of each town, before going on to write and perform a bespoke evening of comedy for the local residents.

His first stop is Hastings, where he finds that a lot's happened since 1066 - including an annual Pirates' Day. Other destinations on his road trip include King's Lynn (where he's thrilled to find a traffic island full of rabbits), Carlisle (notable for its cursing stone and pervasive smell of biscuits) and Aberystwyth (the 'Athens of Wales' and home to the Holy Grail).

Plus, he ventures into the Forest of Dean - but manages to make it out alive, and heads across the Med to Malta, where he samples some pastizzi and gets caught up in a parade. He also performs two COVID-friendly outdoor shows, on Brighton Beach and from a tree stump in The Dell Gardens, Stratford-upon-Avon, and finishes with a special online episode, in which he talks to a virtual audience about the many places he's visited over the course of 10 series of Mark Steel's In Town.

Winner of numerous accolades including the 2010 Silver and 2012 Gold Awards for Best Comedy at the Sony Radio Academy Awards and the 2018 BBC Radio Awards Best Comedy Show, this quirky, engaging series is - in the words of the Sony judges - 'stand-up comedy at its very best'.

Cast and credits
Written and performed by Mark Steel
Additional material by Pete Sinclair
Produced by Carl Cooper
Production co-ordinators: Hayley Sterling and Beverly Tagg
Sound Manager: Jerry Peal

First broadcast on BBC Radio 4, 17 January-21 February 2019 (Series 9), 12-26 November 2020 (Series 10)

Similar Audio Books