Book Rating (105)
Narrator Rating (21)

This Tender Land

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com
CD Rental On Simply Audiobooks

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "This Tender Land" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Scott Brick

14 Hours 21 Minutes

Recorded Books

September 2019

Audio Book Summary

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Timesbestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota-the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en'thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.

Similar Audio Books

Reviews

  • Anonymous

    good story. a little predictable. Narrator could have been a little more in the dialect of the situation.

    Book Rating

  • Linda K.

    I am astounded that this book Has been compared to where the crawdads sing. This book is very dark, very long, and with little redeeming qualities at the end. I almost quit halfway through, but Read on in hopes of a turn of mood, and a wonderful ending, neither of which came about.

    Book Rating

  • Gina M.

    WKK’s Ordinary Grace was extraordinary. Unfortunately, This Tender Land was not. Filled with over used stereotypes and cliches, I found it simply shallow and uninteresting. The psycho head mistress, the orphanage pedophile, the con-artist faith healer, the lesbian couple, the prostitute, and on and on. And ... seriously ... if you ‘just believe’ you will be healed? You can do better WKK.

    Book Rating

  • Denise C.

    I am not a fan of the narrator so I will just say I wish I read the book instead of listened to it. Which I probably will do - I loved Ordinary Grace.

    Book Rating

  • J R.

    Great listen! Kept our interest with plot twists & turns. Wrapped up nicely at the end, and had a nice author's note. Well read/narrated.

    Book Rating