Book Rating (429)
Narrator Rating (116)

This Tender Land

Unabridged Audio Book

Download On Audiobooks.com
Stream On Audiobooks.com

Download or Stream instantly more than 55,000 audiobooks.
Listen to "This Tender Land" on your iOS and Android device.

Don't have an iOS or Android device, then listen in your browse on any PC or Mac computer.

Author:

Narrator:

Length:

Publisher:

Date:

Scott Brick

14 Hours 21 Minutes

Recorded Books

September 2019

Audio Book Summary

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Timesbestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota-the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en'thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.

Similar Audio Books

Reviews

  • Kathryn K.

    I enjoyed this book and feel sad that its over. I especially like how the book wrapped up.

    Book Rating

  • Anonymous

    Wonderful book that I'd listen to again! Each chapter was full of new challenges for the 4 lovable vagabonds. I hated for it to end.

    Book Rating

  • I kunt reed

    Grate stori. Instent klasick. Reeder haz a grate voys.

    Book Rating

  • Anonymous

    Good read and very good to listen, nice voice.

    Book Rating

  • Shroas

    This was an enjoyable read. It had me crying at points. Yet I never knew what was waiting around the corner.

    Book Rating

  • Claire M.

    Loved the tales of the four vagabonds and their adventures in search of their dreams. Beautifully written, a well paced narrative that kept this reader engaged and in anticipation of the next chapter.

    Book Rating

  • Kathryn Stiller (gift)

    Very good book and narrator. I loved how it tied things in history to the experiences of these characters. The bonds and challenges between these characters, as well as the surprising twists, kept your interest. The story of the “vagabonds” inside the story of the characters added to the creativity and depth by the author. Listen to the author’s addition in the end….

    Book Rating

  • Anonymous

    I enjoyed this book very much until the end. I didn’t like the rushed ending.

    Book Rating

  • Anonymous

    A powerful, beautiful story, read by the perfect narrator.

    Book Rating

  • Jim G.

    Great listen. Didn’t want it to end.

    Book Rating